'Tight Spot' by Current Students Shortlisted for IMDb New Filmmaker Award, Now Streaming

Felix van Kann
November 06, 2019

Tight Spot, written and directed by current student Kevin Haefelin and produced by current student Christina Wood, was shortlisted for the IMDb New Filmmaker Award. This week, it will also be available to stream on Comcast NBCUniversal's Xfinity On Demand’s streaming service.

In Tight Spot, a shoe shiner services a walk-in customer and discovers his client’s dark secret.

The IMDb New Filmmaker Award is designed to promote emerging talent and is open to anyone who has a short film between 1 and 10 minutes and with no previous distribution. The prize is £1000 in cash and will be awarded on November 14th.

Kevin Haefelin is a film director, editor and screenwriter based in New York City. His film Tirages en série gathered a number of awards and nominations worldwide, including nominations for the Leopard of Tomorrow at the 64th Festival del film Locarno and the Max Ophüls Preis. His short film Maman was co-produced by Academy Award nominated producer Max Karli and was distributed on DVD as part of the short film collections La Faute a RousseauMaman reached more than two million views on Youtube, was broadcasted on the Swiss National Television (RTS) and premiered at the 18th Visions du Réel International Film Festival. Haefelin’s film Le Dernier Cigare starring French actor Didier Flamand was co-produced by the Swiss National Television (RTS), nominated for the Max Ophüls Preis in Saarbrücken and selected as part of the New York City International Film Festival.

Christina Wood is a Creative Producing MFA student at Columbia University's School of the Arts. Wood attended McGill University (BA '15) where she studied English, Economics and Marketing. She then relocated to London and worked in the theatrical distribution team at Entertainment One UK. As a support member to the publicity team, she assisted with the awards campaigns for acclaimed films Spotlight (2016), Arrival (2016), The Girl on the Train (2016), The BFG (2016), I, Daniel Blake (2016), Denial (2017) and Jackie (2017).