Sarah Nerboso '12 Writes Season 2 of 'Monster High' on Nickelodeon

Joséphine Simonian
April 01, 2024

Film alumna Sarah Nerboso '12 wrote nine episodes for the second season of the hit animated series Monster High on Nickelodeon. Season 2 of the kid's program, created in partnership with popular toy company Mattel, premiered on March 11, 2024.

The season premiere, "Rule School,” opens on Clawdeen, who finds that balancing school with her new role as Were-Ruler is way more challenging than she thought. As she faces her first big task as Were-Ruler, Clawdeen makes a decision that will shake up the were-world.

The 20-episode second season follows Clawdeen and the rest of the "boo crew" as they begin a new semester. The boo crew find themselves navigating a variety of monstrous situations, including a vacation at Scare-adise Resort that takes a mysterious turn, a mythological showdown during a music festival, a magic-powered competitive game night, and more. 

According to Michelle Mendelovitz, Global Head of Mattel Television Studios, the stories of the show revolve around "friendship, acceptance, and of course, plenty of surprises.”

A born-and-bred New Yorker, Sarah Nerboso was raised on a steady diet of bagels, Buffy, and Bugs Bunny. She graduated from the University of Chicago with a BA in East Asian History and, after a detour into New York’s experimental theater scene, graduated with an MFA in Film from Columbia University. Her screenplay The Adventures of Awesome Girl received Faculty Honors from Columbia and went on to be an Academy Nicholl Fellowship Semifinalist. Recently, Sarah staffed for two seasons on the scary adventure-comedy Gremlins: Secrets of the Mogwai, on HBO Max. Sarah was also a staff writer for three seasons on DreamWorks Animation/Netflix's Harvey Girls Forever! She has written for a variety of animated shows, including Bugs Bunny Builders, Tiny Chef, and Monster High, as well as several not-yet-announced projects. She has also done development work for top-secret projects at King Features, Dreamworks Animation, Nickelodeon, and Warner Bros Animation.