Film Faculty & Alumni Nominated For 2018 Emmy Awards

July 20, 2018

It’s an exciting time for Columbia University’s Film faculty and alumni, who received multiple nominations for the 2018 Emmy Awards in various categories.


Fahrenheit 451

Professor Bahrani on the set of Fahrenheit 451 with stars, Michael B. Jordan and Michael Hannah


Associate Film Professor Ramin Bahrani, who directed the HBO film, Fahrenheit 451, received five nominations for his adaptation of Ray Bradbury’s groundbreaking 1953 sci-fi novel. Fahrenheit 451 was nominated for Outstanding TV Movie, Outstanding Cinematography in a Limited Series or Movie, Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Limited Series or Movie, Outstanding Sound Editing For a Limited Series, Movie or Special, and Outstanding Fantasy/Sci-Fi Costumes. The film, which stars Michael B. Jordan (The Black Panther), Michael Hannah (The Shape of Water), and former YouTube star, Lilly Singh, is up against contenders such as Twin Peaks and Black Mirrors.


Meanwhile, Alumni Tony Gerber '95 and Juliana Lembi '17—who both specialized in Creative Producing at Columbia—were nominated for their respective nonfiction projects.


Jane logo


Gerber produced Jane, a documentary film that used archival footage and interviews to examine the life and research of the anthropologist Jane Goodall. Jane was nominated for Outstanding Writing For A Nonfiction Program, Outstanding Cinematography For A Nonfiction Program, and Exceptional Merit In Documentary Film making. Gerber received the Producer’s Guild Award for Outstanding Producer of a Documentary earlier this year.


Wild Wild Country


Alumna Juliana Lembi produced the Netflix TV series, Wild Wild Country, which follows the true-story of Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh, an Indian guru who seeks to build a utopian society in Oregon during the 1980s. Wild Wild Country, which Lembi produced while she was still a graduate student, was nominated for Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction Series.

Jane and Wild Wild Country were both nominated for Outstanding Directing For A Documentary/Nonfiction Program, Outstanding Sound Editing For A Nonfiction Program, Outstanding Sound Mixing For A Nonfiction Program (Single Or Multicamera), and Outstanding Picture Editing For a Nonfiction Program, as well.


The 70th Emmy Award winners will be announced Monday, September 17 in Los Angeles.