Still from Everything's Fine, image courtesy of Columbia University Film Festival

Alumni Thesis Film Nominated For Best Comedy At The 39th College Television Awards

February 8, 2019

Everything’s Fine: A Panic Attack in D Major, written and directed by alumnus Zack Morrison '18 and produced by alumna Taylor Ortega '18 was nominated for Best Comedy at the 39th College Television Awards. The goal of these awards is “to highlight the next generation of creators and executives within the industry” as described by the chair of the Television Academy Foundation. The 25 nominees were selected from over 600 productions submitted by 174 colleges and universities nationwide. Designed to emulate the Emmys, the student entries are judged online by active Television Academy members. College Television nominees and winners will become part of the Television Academy Foundation's alumni family and have the opportunity to participate in year-round networking opportunities and events. The awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, March 16, 2019, at the Television Academy's Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, California.


Everything’s Fine: A Panic Attack in D Major is a musical comedy about a woman at the onset of her 'quarter life crisis,' following her existential journey through the various stages of anxiety in song. The film was showcased as part of the 2018 Columbia University Film Festival at the Lincoln Center where it received Jury Honors.


Zack Morrison is the creator of a YouTube variety series, We Have A Show, and recently worked as an Associate Producer for the digital news entertainment show, The Breakdown. He has also worked as a Writer’s Assistant at the Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon and as a Writer’s PA on Saturday Night Live and Late Night with Seth Meyers.


Taylor Ortega currently works as a Coordinator in the Development and Production department at Nickelodeon. She has previously worked as a Production Assistant with Magilla Productions and as a Production Intern on Lynne Ramsay's feature film You Were Never Really Here.