The Playwriting Concentration

The MFA playwriting program embraces diverse voices and aesthetics. There are many ways to write a great play, exemplified by our faculty, which includes Tony©, Pulitzer, and Obie Award winners such as Charles Mee, Lynn Nottage, and David Henry Hwang. This program seeks to help each student find their own unique and idiosyncratic voice, and help each play grow into the best version of itself.

We take a practical approach to preparing graduates for careers as dramatists, by offering courses and experience in the full range of dramatic writing, including television, film, and musical theatre, under the guidance of instructors like Tony© Award-winning composer Jeanine Tesori and iconic TV showrunner Matt Williams.


Because we believe playwrights need to hear their work and see it staged, two years of reading and critiquing student work are supplemented by workshop productions. The third year includes professional development led by the concentration head, with each student receiving a full production of their thesis play, mentored by their favorite dramatist or other theatre professional.


This program is large enough to offer a wide range of courses, and small enough for each writer to gain the personal attention necessary to facilitate their all-important artistic growth.

Upcoming Events:

Stay tuned for information on upcoming events.

Notable Alumni

David Wiener '01 (Fear the Walking Dead)

Bathsheba Doran '03 (The Mystery of Love and Sex)

Beau Willimon '03 (House of Cards)

Jocelyn Bioh '08 (School Girls; or The African Mean Girls Play)

Celine Song '14 (Endlings

Raquel Almazan '15 (La Paloma Prisoner)

Ming Peiffer '16 (Usual Girls)

Matthew Barbot '17 (El Conqui Espectacular and The Bottle of Doom)

The Playwright's Room

The Playwright’s Room is a series featuring the newest cohort of Columbia Playwriting students. These playwrights study under the tutelage of David Henry Hwang and Lynn Nottage. ​

The Playwright’s Room: Goldie Patrick

The Playwright’s Room: Goldie Patrick

June 2, 2021

Patrick is a proud alumna of Howard University where she earned her BFA in acting and is the former founding Executive Director of FRESHH Inc Theatre company for Black womxn and girls.

read more

The Playwright’s Room: Sam Kressner

The Playwright’s Room: Sam Kressner

May 20, 2021

Kressner is a playwright and screenwriter who recently wrote his first feature film, Light On Broken Glass, starring Patricia Clarkson. Kressner has worked with a host of international film directors such as Isabel Coixet (Elegy), Peter Sattler (Camp X-Ray), and Claire McCarthy (Ophelia).

read more