Faculty and Alumni Elected to Academy of Arts and Sciences

Mădălina Telea Borteș
May 17, 2024

Three School of the Arts faculty members and alumni have been inducted into the Academy of Arts and Sciences. Founded in 1790 during the American Revolution, the Academy recognizes highly accomplished leaders in the arts, academia, public policy and research. 

This year’s cohort includes Professor of Creative Writing and Booker Prize winner, Paul Beatty, Poetry alumna and former Poet Laureate, Tracy K Smith ’97, and Adjunct Assistant Professor and Mentor of Visual Arts, Linda Goode Bryant

Paul Beatty is the author of four novels, Slumberland, Tuff, The White Boy Shuffle, and The Sellout, which won both the 2015 National Book Critics Circle Award in Fiction and the 2016 Man Booker Prize.

Tracy K. Smith is the author of five collections of poetry. She was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Life on Mars, published in 2011, and served as the Poet Laureate of the United States from 2017 to 2019. 

Linda Bryant is an African-American documentary filmmaker and activist. She founded the gallery Just Above Midtown (JAM), which was the focus of an exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art in the fall of 2022, organized by curator Thomas Lax.

The Academy, which “is both an honorary society that recognizes and celebrates the excellence of its members and an independent research center convening leaders from across disciplines, professions, and perspectives to address significant challenges,” counts several other Columbia University affiliates among its members, including former University President Lee C. Bollinger (LAW '71), who received the honor in 1992.

This year’s newly elected members will be honored at a reception on June 3, 2024, held at the American Museum of Natural History.