Erika Luckert '16 and Diana Khoi Nguyen '12 Receive 92Y's Discovery/Boston Review Poetry Prize

April 21, 2017

Two alumni of the Writing Program, Erika Luckert ’16 and Diana Khoi Nguyen ’12, have been announced as winners of the 2017 Discovery/Boston Review Poetry Contest, which is put on jointly by the 92nd Street Y (92Y) and Boston Review. The other winners of the Joan Leiman Jacobson Poetry Prize are James Knippen and Courtney Faye Taylor.

The preliminary judges for the prize were Francine J. Harris and Timothy Donnelly, an associate professor and chair of the Writing Program. The final judges wereHenri Cole, Douglas Kearney, and Monica Youn. Henri Cole ’82 is an alumnus of the Writing Program, and Youn will be teaching in the program in the fall of 2017 as an adjunct.

Luckert’s poems have appeared or are forthcoming inDenver QuarterlyIndiana Review, and Asymptote. Nguyen’s poems have appeared or are forthcoming inPoetryAmerican Poetry Review, and The Iowa Review.

Past winners of 92Y’s contest include John Ashbery, Mark Strand, and Mary Jo Bang ’98, a Writing Program alumna. This is the 10th year the contest has been presented with Boston Review, where Timothy Donnelly serves as poetry editor.

The winners will read their work at an event at 92Y, in the organization’s Buttenwieser Hall, on May 8 at 8 pm.