Jeanine Tesori Wins Lee Reynolds Award

April 25, 2016

Adjunct faculty member Jeanine Tesori will be awarded the Lee Reynolds Award for her work on Fun Home with Lisa Kron and Sam Gold. Tesori and Kron adapted Alison Bechdel's 2006 graphic memoir of the same name into the Tony-winning Broadway musical, directed by Gold.

The Lee Reynolds Award, given by the League of Professional Theatre Women, honors a female theatre artist whose work addresses issues of social, cultural or political change. It is named for the award-winning producer who served on the LPTW’s board of directors. The LPTW, a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the work of women in theatre, is currently in its 31st year.

In addition to her score for Fun Home, Tesori has written Tony-nominated scores for Twelfth Night at Lincoln Center; Thoroughly Modern Millie (lyrics, Dick Scanlan);Caroline, or Change (lyrics, Tony Kushner); and Shrek The Musical (lyrics, David Lindsay-Abaire). She is the founding artistic director of Encores! Off-Center at New York City Center.

The awards will be presented on May 2 at the Pershing Square Signature Center. This year’s winners include Micki Grant, Jane Cox, Ari Laura Kreith, Lear deBessonet and Elsa Rael.