David Henry Hwang Appointed Chair of American Theater Wing

June 29, 2016

Playwriting Concentration Head David Henry Hwang has been named the chair of the American Theatre Wing, the non-profit theater organization that founded and runs the Tony Awards.

As chair of its board of directors, Hwang will work with American Theatre Wing President and CEO Heather Hitchens in spearheading many of the organization’s programs, which largely focus on theatre education, development and networking. “David Henry Hwang is an exceptional artist and advocate,” Hitchens said in a statement, “and I am thrilled that he will be by my side as we lead the Wing to even greater heights."

In addition to presenting the Tony Awards every year with the Broadway League, the Wing co-presents the Obie Awards and runs a variety of theatre-development programs, including the Jonathan Larson Grants and SpringBoardNYC. This year, the organization launched the Andrew Lloyd Webber Initiative, which supports theatre education for underserved young people and under-resourced public schools around the country.

“I am honored to serve the American Theatre Wing as it celebrates a century advancing excellence,” Hwang said in a statement. “Through its wide range of programs and activities, the Wing supports the vitality and diversity of theatre in our nation. I will do my best to help build on this iconic legacy.”

Hwang, who has been on the board of the American Theatre Wing since 2009, is succeeding costume designer William Ivey Long in the position, where he is joined by co-vice chairs Natasha Katz, Marva Smalls and Pamela Zilly.

Hwang, a Tony Award winner, three-time Obie Award winner and two-time finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Drama, is currently at work on a number of other projects, including two operas: He co-wrote the libretto for Dream of the Red Chamber, which is set to open at San Francisco’s War Memorial Opera House on September 10, and wrote the libretto for An American Soldier, which will receive its world premiere in June 2018 as part of the Opera Theatre of Saint Louis’s New Works, Bold Voices series.