Several Students Named Pushcart Nominees

December 7, 2016

Several current Columbia students were named Pushcart nominees last week, as part of a widespread nomination process for the prize, which honors poetry, fiction, and nonfiction from small magazines and presses in the form of an annual anthology.

Carlie Hoffman, Matthew Gellman, Lily Blacksell, and Lucas Gonzalez—all current students—were nominated for the prize by publications in which they’ve published work this year. [Read an interview with Lily Blacksell]

The first anthology in the Pushcart Prize series was published in 1976. The series was named one of the “most influential projects in the history of American publishing” by Publishers Weekly, according to the Pushcart Web site, and received the National Book Critics Circle Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005.

Speaking to the Prize’s endurance and longevity, Bill Henderson, publisher and editor, writes on the prize’s Web site, “The Pushcart Prize, the small presses and authors we honor, have flourished. The reason? Spirit will never be quelled, certainly not by big bucks and bluster. Each edition of the Pushcart Prize is evidence of this. Many new presses and dozens of new authors emerge annually and are honored in classrooms, bookstores and libraries around the world. And so the Pushcart Prize has been renewed since our first edition in 1976. We celebrate this renewal every year. This is our joy.”

The Pushcart Prize winners are typically announced in the spring.