Alumni Luckert and Nguyen Receive 92Y's Discovery/Boston Review Poetry Prize

Bookmark and Share
  • Ericka Luckert
1 of 2
Ericka Luckert
Two alumni of the Writing Program, Erika Luckert ’16 and Diana Khoi Nguyen ’12, have been announced as winners of the 2017 Discovery/Boston Review Poetry Contest, which is put on jointly by the 92nd Street Y (92Y) and Boston Review. The other winners of the Joan Leiman Jacobson Poetry Prize are James Knippen and Courtney Faye Taylor.

The preliminary judges for the prize were Francine J. Harris and Timothy Donnelly, an associate professor and chair of the Writing Program. The final judges were Henri Cole, Douglas Kearney, and Monica Youn. Henri Cole ’82 is an alumnus of the Writing Program, and Youn will be teaching in the program in the fall of 2017 as an adjunct.

Luckert’s poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Denver Quarterly, Indiana Review, and Asymptote. Nguyen’s poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Poetry, American Poetry Review, and The Iowa Review.

Past winners of 92Y’s contest include John Ashbery, Mark Strand, and Mary Jo Bang ’98, a Writing Program alumna. This is the 10th year the contest has been presented with Boston Review, where Timothy Donnelly serves as poetry editor.

The winners will read their work at an event at 92Y, in the organization’s Buttenwieser Hall, on May 8 at 8 p.m.

© 2017 Columbia University School of the Arts | 305 Dodge Hall, Mail Code 1808 | 2960 Broadway | New York, NY 10027 | (212) 854-2875 | EMAIL
Columbia University School of the Arts offers MFA degrees in Film, Theatre, Visual Arts, and Writing, an MA degree in Film Studies, a joint JD/MFA degree in Theatre Management & Producing, a PhD degree in Theatre History, Literature, and Theory, and an interdisciplinary program in Sound Arts.