Richard Ford

Richard Ford
415 Dodge Hall
Richard Ford’s novel Independence Day (1995) was the first book to receive both the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Pulitzer Prize. The book was the second in his critically acclaimed Bascombe Trilogy, which began with The Sportswriter in 1986. His other works include the novels, A Piece of My Heart (1976), The Ultimate Good Luck (1981) and Wildlife (1990), as well as the short fiction collections Rock Springs (1987) and Women with Men (1998). Ford was given the Rea Award for the Short Story in 1995 for his outstanding contributions to the form. He has edited several collections of fiction, including Best American Short Stories 1990, The New Granta Book of the American Short Story (2007) and, most recently, Blue Collar, White Collar, No Collar: Stories of Work (2011). His latest novel, Canada, was released in May, 2012. Ford joined Columbia from the graduate writing program at the University of Mississippi. He has taught previously at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, Princeton University and Williams College.
photo / Greta Rybus
[On leave - Spring 2016]
© 2017 Columbia University School of the Arts | 305 Dodge Hall, Mail Code 1808 | 2960 Broadway | New York, NY 10027 | (212) 854-2875 | EMAIL
Columbia University School of the Arts offers MFA degrees in Film, Theatre, Visual Arts, and Writing, an MA degree in Film Studies, a joint JD/MFA degree in Theatre Management & Producing, a PhD degree in Theatre History, Literature, and Theory, and an interdisciplinary program in Sound Arts.