Full-Time Writing Faculty

Associate Professor - Hilton Als became a staff writer at The New Yorker in October 1994, and a theatre critic in 2002. He began contributing to the magazine in 1989, writing pieces for “The Talk of the Town.” Before coming to The New Yorker, Als was a staff writer for the Village Voice and an editor-at-large at Vibe. He has also written articles for The Nation and collaborated on film scripts for Swoon and Looking for Langston.
Associate Professor - Paul Beatty is the author of four novels, Slumberland, Tuff, The White Boy Shuffle, and the 2016 Man Booker Prize-winning The Sellout. He has also authored two books of poetry, Big Bank Take Little Bank and Joker, Joker, Deuce. He is the editor of Hokum: An Anthology of African-American Humor.
Susan Bernofsky
Associate Professor, LTAC Director - Susan Bernofsky’s literary translations include seven works of fiction by the great Swiss-German modernist author Robert Walser, as well as novels and poetry by Jenny Erpenbeck, Yoko Tawada, Gregor von Rezzori, Uljana Wolf and others. She chairs the PEN Translation Committee and is co-editor (with Esther Allen) of the 2013 Columbia University Press anthology In Translation: Translators on Their Work and What It Means.
Lucie Brock-Broido
Professor, Poetry Director - Lucie Brock-Broido received her BA and her MA from Johns Hopkins University, and her MFA from Columbia University. Her most recent book Stay, Illusion, was a finalist for the 2013 National Book Award in Poetry, and is a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her previous collections of poetry include Trouble in Mind (Alfred A. Knopf, 2004), recipient of the Massachusetts Book Award; The Master Letters (1995); and A Hunger (1988).
Nicholas Christopher
Professor - Nicholas Christopher received his B.A. from Harvard College.
Timothy Donnelly
Chair, Associate Professor - Timothy Donnelly is the author of Twenty-seven Props for a Production of Eine Lebenszeit (Grove 2003) and The Cloud Corporation (Wave 2010), winner of the 2012 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Prize. His chapbook Hymn to Life was published in 2014 by Factory Hollow Press and with John Ashbery and Geoffrey G.
Deborah Eisenberg (c) Diana Michener
Professor - Deborah Eisenberg is a MacArthur Foundation Fellow and the recipient of numerous honors including the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, a Whiting Writer’s Award and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Eisenberg has published four collections of stories: Transactions in a Foreign Currency (1986), Under the 82nd Airborne (1992), All Around Atlantis (1997), and Twilight of the Superheroes (2006).
Richard Ford
Professor - Richard Ford’s novel Independence Day (1995) was the first book to receive both the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Pulitzer Prize. The book was the second in his critically acclaimed Bascombe Trilogy, which began with The Sportswriter in 1986.
Lis Harris
Associate Professor - Lis Harris received a B.A. from Bennington College and was a staff writer at The New Yorker from 1970 to 1995. In addition to innumerable articles, reviews and commentaries, she is the author of Holy Days: The World of a Hasidic Family, Rules of Engagement: Four American Marriages, and Tilting at Mills: Green Dreams, Dirty dealings and the Corporate Squeeze. A two-time Woodrow Wilson Lila Acheson Wallace Fellowship recipient, she was awarded grants in 1998 from the J.M.
Richard Howard
Professor Emeritus - Richard Howard was born in 1929 in Cleveland, received a B.A. from Columbia in 1951 and did graduate work at Columbia University and the Sorbonne. He is the author of fourteen books of poetry, including Untitled Subjects (1969), Trappings (1999), and Talking Cures (2002), as well as the critical study Alone with America and the critical prefaces of the anthology Preferences.
Assistant Professor - Leslie Jamison is the author of The Empathy Exams, a New York Times bestselling essay collection, and a novel, The Gin Closet, a finalist for the Los Angeles Times First Fiction Award.
Professor - Margo Jefferson is a Pulitzer Prize-winning cultural critic. She has been a staff writer for The New York Times and Newsweek; her reviews and essays have appeared in New York Magazine, Grand Street, Vogue, Harper's and many other publications. Her book, On Michael Jackson, was published in 2006. She has received a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Rockefeller Foundation /Theater Communications Group grant.
Heidi Julavits
Associate Professor - Heidi Julavits is the editor, with Sheila Heti and Leanne Shapton, of Women in Clothes (Blue Rider 2014). Her most recent novel is The Vanishers. She is also the author of The Uses of Enchantment and The Effect of Living Backwards, both New York Times Notable Books, and The Mineral Palace, a finalist for the Young Lions Literary Award.
Binnie Kirshenbaum
Professor, Fiction Director - Binnie Kirshenbaum received a BA from Columbia University and an MFA from Brooklyn College. She is the author of the story collection History on a Personal Note and six novels, On Mermaid Avenue, A Disturbance in One Place, Pure Poetry, Hester Among The Ruins, An Almost Perfect Moment and The Scenic Route.
Dorothea Lasky
Assistant Professor - Dorothea “Dottie” Lasky is the author of ROME, as well as Thunderbird, Black Life, and AWE, all out from Wave Books.  She is also the author of several chapbooks, including Poetry is Not a Project (Ugly Duckling Press, 2010), The Blue Teratorn (YesYes Books, 2012), and Matter: A Picturebook (Argos Books, 2012).  Her poems have appeared in The Paris Review, The New Yorker, American Poetry Review, and B
Victor LaValle
Associate Professor - Victor LaValle is the author of Slapboxing with Jesus, a book of stories, and three novels, The Ecstatic, Big Machine, and The Devil in Silver. He has been the recipient of numerous awards, including a Guggenheim Fellowhsip, the Shirley Jackson Award and the key to Southeast Queens.
Sam Lipsyte
Associate Professor - Sam Lipsyte's most recent book is The Fun Parts. He is also the author of The Ask (New York Times Notable Book for 2010), Home Land (New York Times Notable Book for 2005 and winner of The Believer Book Award), as well as The Subject Steve and Venus Drive.
Richard Locke
Professor - Richard Locke is a critic and essayist, the author of more than 180 essays and reviews that have appeared in The New York Times Book Review, the Wall Street Journal, The American Scholar, The Threepenny Review, BookForum, Salmagundi, The Yale Review, The Atlantic, The New Republic, and other publications.
Phillip Lopate
Professor and Nonfiction Director - Phillip Lopate was born in Brooklyn, New York in 1943, and received a BA from Columbia in 1964, and a doctorate from the Union Graduate School in 1979.
Ben Marcus
Professor - Ben Marcus’ most recent book is Leaving the Sea, a collection of short stories. He is also the author of The Flame Alphabet, Notable American Women, and The Age of Wire and String. His writing has appeared in Harper's, The New Yorker, The Paris Review, Granta, The Believer, The New York Times, McSweeney's, Conjunctions, and Tin House.
© 2017 Columbia University School of the Arts | 305 Dodge Hall, Mail Code 1808 | 2960 Broadway | New York, NY 10027 | (212) 854-2875 | EMAIL
Columbia University School of the Arts offers MFA degrees in Film, Theatre, Visual Arts, and Writing, an MA degree in Film Studies, a joint JD/MFA degree in Theatre Management & Producing, a PhD degree in Theatre History, Literature, and Theory, and an interdisciplinary program in Sound Arts.