Inaugural Andrew Sarris Memorial Award and Pat Anderson Prize

Bookmark and Share

The Film Program of Columbia University's School of the Arts is proud to announce the establishment of the Andrew Sarris Memorial Award for Film Criticism, an annual cash prize in honor of the celebrated film professor and critic who died in 2012. The recipient is Columbia College senior film major Anneliese Cooper for her essay, "Positively Anti-Realist: Art, Artifice, and the Power of Fiction in the Films of Pedro Almodovar." She will receive $750.

For the first year, nominations were made by Caryn James--professor of the Fall 2012 "Writing Film Criticism" seminar--from among her students' work, and by professors of the Senior Seminar in Film Studies. Faculty members Annette Insdorf and Nico Baumbach, along with film critic Molly Haskell, made the final selection with her.

We are also pleased to announce that the recipient of The Pat Anderson Prize in Film Reviewing is GS film major Augustin Kennady for his essay, "The Thirteenth Angry Man," a study of Sidney Lumet's "12 Angry Men." The prize of $300 is named for the film critic who died in 2011. For many decades, she was part of New York's movie community--writing about motion pictures for "Films in Review"--and a vital member of the National Board of Review from the 1970s until 2009.

© 2017 Columbia University School of the Arts | 305 Dodge Hall, Mail Code 1808 | 2960 Broadway | New York, NY 10027 | (212) 854-2875 | EMAIL
Columbia University School of the Arts offers MFA degrees in Film, Theatre, Visual Arts, and Writing, an MA degree in Film Studies, a joint JD/MFA degree in Theatre Management & Producing, a PhD degree in Theatre History, Literature, and Theory, and an interdisciplinary program in Sound Arts.