School of the Arts Full-Time Faculty

Associate Professor - Hilton Als became a staff writer at The New Yorker in October 1994, and a theatre critic in 2002. He began contributing to the magazine in 1989, writing pieces for “The Talk of the Town.” Before coming to The New Yorker, Als was a staff writer for the Village Voice and an editor-at-large at Vibe. He has also written articles for The Nation and collaborated on film scripts for Swoon and Looking for Langston.
Gregory Amenoff
Professor - Gregory Amenoff (b. 1948) is a painter who lives in New York City and Ulster County, New York. He is the recipient of numerous awards from organizations including the American Academy of Arts and Letters, National Endowment for the Arts, New York State Council on the Arts and Tiffany Foundation. He has had over fifty one-person exhibitions in museums and galleries throughout the United States and Europe.
Arnold Aronson
Professor - Arnold Aronson is a theatre historian and has taught at Columbia since 1991.
Ramin Bahrani
Assistant Professor - Writer/director Ramin Bahrani’s films have screened at the Venice, Cannes, Sundance, Berlin and Toronto Film Festivals.
Nico Baumbach
Assistant Professor - Nico Baumbach holds a Ph.D. in Literature from Duke University. His research and teaching focus on critical theory, film theory, documentary, and the intersection of aesthetic and political philosophy. He is currently working on two books: a study of cinema and politics in the work of contemporary Continental philosophers Alain Badiou, Jacques Rancière, Giorgio Agamben and Slavoj Zizek; and a monograph titled The Anonymous Image.
Associate Professor - Paul Beatty is the author of four novels, Slumberland, Tuff, The White Boy Shuffle, and the 2016 Man Booker Prize-winning The Sellout. He has also authored two books of poetry, Big Bank Take Little Bank and Joker, Joker, Deuce. He is the editor of Hokum: An Anthology of African-American Humor.
Susan Bernofsky
Associate Professor, LTAC Director - Susan Bernofsky’s literary translations include seven works of fiction by the great Swiss-German modernist author Robert Walser, as well as novels and poetry by Jenny Erpenbeck, Yoko Tawada, Gregor von Rezzori, Uljana Wolf and others. She chairs the PEN Translation Committee and is co-editor (with Esther Allen) of the 2013 Columbia University Press anthology In Translation: Translators on Their Work and What It Means.
Associate Professor - Andy Bienen received a BA from New York University, an MA from the University of Virginia, and an MFA in Film from Columbia University School of the Arts. He cowrote Boys Don't Cry with Kimberly Peirce ('96SOA), director of the film.
Photo by: Alex Freundt
Associate Professor - Sanford is an installation, video, and performance artist whose work has been exhibited worldwide, including at the Tate Britain and Tate Modern, the Whitney Museum of American Art, and the Studio Museum Harlem. He has participated in several national and international artist residencies, and has been a fellow in programs including the Socrates Sculpture Park Residency, the Lower Manhattan Cultural Council World Views AIR Program, and the P.S.1 International Studio Program.
Anne Bogart
Professor, Head of Directing Concentration - Bogart is the Co-Artistic Director of SITI Company, which she founded with Japanese director Tadashi Suzuki in 1992. She is the recipient of a Doris Duke Artist Grant, a USA Fellowship, a Rockefeller Fellowship, and a Guggenheim Fellowship.
Lucie Brock-Broido
Professor, Poetry Director - Lucie Brock-Broido received her BA and her MA from Johns Hopkins University, and her MFA from Columbia University. Her most recent book Stay, Illusion, was a finalist for the 2013 National Book Award in Poetry, and is a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her previous collections of poetry include Trouble in Mind (Alfred A. Knopf, 2004), recipient of the Massachusetts Book Award; The Master Letters (1995); and A Hunger (1988).
Associate Professor - Hilary Brougher is a writer and director living and working in N.Y.C. She wrote and directed her first feature The Sticky Fingers of Time in 1996, produced by Isen Robbins, Susan Stover and Good Machine. The film was an official selection at the Venice, Rotterdam, and Toronto International Film Festivals, and was released theatrically in the U.S.
Matthew Buckingham
Associate Professor - Matthew Buckingham has presented solo exhibitions at the Brooklyn Museum, New York; Camden Arts Centre, London; Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid; Dallas Museum of Art; Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin; the Kitchen, New York; Kunstmuseum, St. Gallen; the Museum of Contemporary Art, Denver; Museum Moderner Kunst, Vienna and the St. Louis Art Museum among others.
Associate Professor - James Calleri is an Associate Professor of Professional Practice in the Acting concentration. He is a well-known casting director and is the owner and president of Calleri Casting, where he and partners Paul Davis and Erica Jensen cast theater, film and television.
Steven Chaikelson
Professor - Steven Chaikelson began teaching at Columbia in 1998 and, since 2002, has been serving as the Director of the Theatre Management and Producing Concentration. In addition to his responsibilities in the School of the Arts, he is on the faculty and teaches both at Columbia Law School and in the Barnard/Columbia College Theatre Department. He also serves as an advisor to the T. Fellowship for Creative Producers, founded by Harold Prince.
Nicholas Christopher
Professor - Nicholas Christopher received his B.A. from Harvard College.
Ira Deutchman
Professor -  Ira Deutchman has been making, marketing and distributing films since 1975, having worked on over 150 films including some of the most successful independent films of all time.
Katherine Dieckmann
Associate Professor - Writer-director Katherine Dieckmann’s most recent feature film is Strange Weather, starring Holly Hunter, Carrie Coon and Kim Coates, which premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival in 2016.
Timothy Donnelly
Chair, Associate Professor - Timothy Donnelly is the author of Twenty-seven Props for a Production of Eine Lebenszeit (Grove 2003) and The Cloud Corporation (Wave 2010), winner of the 2012 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Prize. His chapbook Hymn to Life was published in 2014 by Factory Hollow Press and with John Ashbery and Geoffrey G.
Deborah Eisenberg (c) Diana Michener
Professor - Deborah Eisenberg is a MacArthur Foundation Fellow and the recipient of numerous honors including the 2011 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, a Whiting Writer’s Award and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Eisenberg has published four collections of stories: Transactions in a Foreign Currency (1986), Under the 82nd Airborne (1992), All Around Atlantis (1997), and Twilight of the Superheroes (2006).
© 2017 Columbia University School of the Arts | 305 Dodge Hall, Mail Code 1808 | 2960 Broadway | New York, NY 10027 | (212) 854-2875 | EMAIL
Columbia University School of the Arts offers MFA degrees in Film, Theatre, Visual Arts, and Writing, an MA degree in Film Studies, a joint JD/MFA degree in Theatre Management & Producing, a PhD degree in Theatre History, Literature, and Theory, and an interdisciplinary program in Sound Arts.