Alumni Nominated at the 2013 DGA Awards

Bookmark and Share
1 of 2

The Directors Guild Award nominations applaud the work of two Columbia alumni this year: Kathryn Bigelow ('81 SOA) and Greg Mottola ('91 SOA).

Nominated for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in a Dramatic Series, Mottola will go up against the direction of Homeland, Mad Men, and Breaking Bad for his directorial turn on The Newsroom series pilot, We Just Decided To. This year marks the director's first DGA Award nomination.

Also nominated, Kathryn Bigelow will compete in the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film category for her direction of Zero Dark Thirty. This award season marks her second DGA Feature Film nomination. Other nominees include Ben Affleck (Argo), Tom Hooper (Les Miserables), Ang Lee (Life of Pi), and Steven Spielberg (Lincoln). Bigelow won the DGA Feature Film Award in 2009 for the outstanding direction of The Hurt Locker.

All winners will be announced at the 65th Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, February 2, 2013 in Los Angeles. This year's ceremony will be hosted by Kelsey Grammer.

© 2017 Columbia University School of the Arts | 305 Dodge Hall, Mail Code 1808 | 2960 Broadway | New York, NY 10027 | (212) 854-2875 | EMAIL
Columbia University School of the Arts offers MFA degrees in Film, Theatre, Visual Arts, and Writing, an MA degree in Film Studies, a joint JD/MFA degree in Theatre Management & Producing, a PhD degree in Theatre History, Literature, and Theory, and an interdisciplinary program in Sound Arts.